Nifty 50

Nifty 50

Yes, I used the word “nifty.” No, I was not born in the 1920s. My blog picked up it’s 50th follower today, most of you hitching a ride in the past two months. It seems posting everyday has it’s benefits. Fifty is a pretty good number, considering I’ve not really publicized my blog. The reason I’ve not publicized it much is because I feel as if I still have a long way to go to be the photographer I’d like to be – never stop learning, never stop trying to improve. That’s my motto. That’s right, I used the word “nifty,” and I have a motto. Seriously, I was not born in the ’20s. Anyway, the point I was attempting to make is, as a photographer, I’m still a work in progress. I greatly appreciate having all of you join me on my journey, and I’m very thankful for your support – the feedback, even if it’s just an occasional “like,” is very helpful. Thank you.

I’ll leave you with one tip – there are lots of rules in photography. I suggest you break all of them at least once. Just about every photo in this post breaks at least one rule, or was created using some odd combination of equipment you’ll never see recommended in an instruction book. Experimentation is good – it can lead to developing a personal style. You might make lots of bad photos, but the bad ones will teach you more than the good ones ever will. You might also learn a few new tricks along the way, and maybe even create some unique images.

