Rolling back the years with some old school cool

I thought this might be fun…

Pentax ME Super

That handsome fella up there was my very first third camera. As I was typing, I recalled that I had originally purchased a Nikon, but returned it because I was intimidated by it’s all-manual nature(oh, the shame). I exchanged the Nikon for the Pentax Program Plus, and then a few months later fell in love with and purchased the camera you see, the Pentax ME Super. It’s not just a handsome little camera, but a solid performer as well. The ME Super offers both aperture priority and manual modes, a metal curtain focal plane shutter with a top speed of 1/2000 of a second, and can operate without batteries at a fixed shutter speed of 1/125 of a second. At the time, I believe the ME Super was the smallest SLR available. I think of the ME Super as my first camera, because it was the camera I used as I learned about and developed a passion for photography. It was my main camera for many years, and still works like a charm.

Pentax ME Super
Pentax ME Super. No gyroscope in that prism hump by the way, just a big chunk o’ glass.

Pentax ME Super
Autofocus schmautofocus! Seriously, you haven’t lived until you’ve experienced the silky smooth, perfectly damped feel of a Pentax manual focus lens. Heaven.

Pentax ME Super
You say ISO, I say ASA. Oh, and no scene modes. Just the big boy modes, as it should be.

Pentax ME Super
No LCD, just a little pocket for the flap off the film box that told you the speed of the film, and number of exposures on the roll. Sorry, no chimping. You’ve got one shot to get it right. Don’t be nervous.

