Mating dance

Mating dance

There are over 3500 species of Skipper, a small butterfly of the Hesperiidae family. I am not positive, but I believe these are Fiery Skippers. If I’m incorrect, feel free to set me straight. Skippers tend to dart about – hence the name – rarely coming to rest for more than a few seconds at a time. This makes them somewhat difficult to capture, especially when focusing manually. Rather than chase after them, I prefer to find a patch of flowers in good light with a nice “clean” background, and wait for the skippers to show up. They usually do, as they’re rather common around these parts. I focus manually by pre-focusing, and then moving my body back and forth until I achieve precise focus. This tends to be much simpler and faster than constantly tweaking the focusing ring on the lens.

