Golden hour

Golden hour

Sometimes I become too fixated on subject, to the extent that I’m not thinking enough about the light. In almost every great image – I’d say “every,” but it’s possible that there’s the occasional image where this doesn’t apply – it’s the light that makes the image special. No matter how interesting the subject, magic usually only happens when that subject is paired with great light. On the other hand, even the most mundane subjects can sometimes sparkle under flattering light. To remind myself of the importance of light, and to start thinking “light” first and “subject” second, I’ll sometimes go out in the evening and just shoot the light with little regard for subject matter.

Golden hour

Golden hour

Golden hour

Golden hour

Golden hour

Golden hour

Golden hour

Golden hour

Golden hour

