Watch the skies

Watch the skies
Red-tailed Hawk
Morton Arboretum
Lisle, Illinois

These images were created at the end of a somewhat frustrating day. The light mostly refused to cooperate, leaving me unable to create the prairie landscapes I had been after. Thankfully, I stuck around and tried to make the best of a less than perfect situation. Late in the day, the sun broke through beneath the cloud cover, and I spotted this Red-tailed Hawk keeping a watchful eye on a group of ducks in a pond just below him(and occasionally on me as well). Switching gears, I grabbed the Olympus E-M5 with Panasonic 100-300mm attached, and went to work.

One rather large advantage of the m4/3 system – a 600mm equivalent lens you can handhold, and carry all day with one hand. See how long you last carrying around the three pound Nikon D4, and the eleven pound Nikkor 600mm f/4. Sure, the Nikon combination offers superior image quality, but is it $14,300 better? Not to me. With a combined weight of a little over two pounds, and a price of $1500, the Olympus E-M5 /Panasonic 100-300mm combo delivers quite respectable image quality in a small, light, affordable package.

Watch the skies

Watch the skies

Watch the skies

Watch the skies

Watch the skies

Watch the skies

Watch the skies

Watch the skies

Watch the skies

