Golden sails across the sky

Golden sails across the sky

I’m getting quite antsy waiting for the weather to break. I’ve been staring at a bleak, colorless landscape for far too long. Things got so bad that I went out into the garden to fiddle with the autofocus system on the Panasonic G5. I was curious to test out it’s tracking abilities. I wasn’t expecting much, but at least it was something to do. And what did I learn?

Always read the manual.

After a few frustrating attempts to master the AF tracking setting, I wound up reverting to single point focus. I used one large focus box, since there would be nothing in the background to trip up the AF system. This was the best of my efforts – not necessarily a technical triumph, but the lighting is certainly pleasant enough.

I will be going through the manual later tonight…

