Don’t play the numbers game

Don’t play the numbers game

Bad timing – strong storms on the way, just as the Magnolias are starting to bloom. The delicate blossoms generally don’t stand up to much abuse, so I tried to get out today and create a few images before the potential carnage.

By the way, there’s a good article over on the front page of bythom.com entitled What Do Numbers Tell Us? It’s a must read if you’re the type of person who obsesses over camera and lens test results. I’ve touched on some of these themes in the past, but Thom’s post reinforces points I’ve previously made in a most articulate and persuasive manner.

The images in this post were created with the Panasonic 45-150mm, a lens that was purchased along with the Panasonic G5 camera – it was a package deal, and the lens was essentially free. Based on specs and a few test results I wasn’t expecting much, but I knew better than to make any assumptions. This is the first time I’ve used the lens, and I’m generally very pleased with the results – it’s not a great lens, but it’s a good and useful one, more than sharp enough for decent-sized prints. I plan to keep it as a small, light-weight travel option.

Magnolia

Magnolia

Magnolia

