Aftermath

Aftermath

The stormy pattern continues. Yesterday afternoon a powerful storm moved through the area, bringing with it 70mph winds, hail and sideways-blown, monsoon-like downpours. The day began pleasant enough, with ample sunshine. Then odd, ominous clouds rolled in, and the light… let’s just say it took on a rather sci-fi-ish quality. Very strange and unnerving. No luck getting images of the storm – I was somewhat protected by a large awning, but I couldn’t open the door against the force of the wind. I simply stood and watched as the street turned into a river, and large branches were ripped from trees. I was however able to capture a few images afterwards, including an elusive double rainbow…

AftermathI ran out while it was still raining – though at this point lightly – with my decidedly non-weather sealed Panasonic G5, because the lens I wanted happened to already be on the camera. I’m happy to report that the lens and G5 survived. Don’t try this at home, kids.

 

AftermathThis poor robin looked as if he had been dunked – he was totally drenched. I never cease to be amazed by how these tiny, seemingly fragile creatures can survive the fury of such storms. I imagine a few don’t. This soggy yet resourceful fellow was fortunate.

 

AftermathPower and POWER.

 

Aftermath

Aftermath

Aftermath

AftermathA little drier now, basking in the warm glow of the setting sun. Singing a song, happy to still be in one piece.

 

Aftermath

AftermathDarkness falls.

