Pictures of Lily

Pictures of Lily

From time to time I like to toy with film simulations. In Nik Color Efex Pro 4, there are several options for giving an image the look of a specific film. In this case I chose Fuji Velvia 100, and then I tweaked the settings until I got something I liked. Of course, you don’t need a preset to achieve the look of film – it can be done right in Photoshop or other editing software – but it does simplify the process. There are other programs that offer film simulation, and each one does it a bit differently – for instance, Velvia 100 in Color Efex Pro 4 looks a bit different from Velvia in Alien Skin Exposure 5. So these film simulations are, you might say, “approximations.” Are film simulations something I’d use all the time? As of now, no. I find that they work well for some images, but not so well for others. That’s just my personal opinion. Yet to me, they’re interesting enough to keep me experimenting. This is most likely because I grew up in the age of film, and so my brain is conditioned to respond to high contrast and vibrant colors. The real takeaway here is that when you’re recording your images as RAW files rather than jpegs, you must do post-processing. Contrary to what many people think, photo editing software such as Photoshop is not a cheat – it’s a necessary step in creating the best possible image.

