2013-11-16

2013-11-16
“Outflow”
Panasonic G5
Panasonic 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6

I hope everyone’s having a fine weekend. Looks as if some crazy thunder-stormy weather may be on the way for this area, just a few days after we had our first snow – the earliest snowfall around these parts in almost twenty years. I have a feeling that this coming winter is going to be a wild and wooly one.

In other news, I had the opportunity to fiddle around with some RAW files from the Canon 6D, including one image captured at a holy moly inducing ISO 12800. I’ve been toying with the notion of adding a big-sensor camera to my arsenal, but I haven’t been able to decide whether I’d prefer high resolution or low-light capability. At 20MP, the 6D provides decent resolution, but the low-light performance is awe-inspiring. As uninterested as I am to dive back into the world of DSLRs, the option to shoot in almost any lighting conditions is mighty tempting. I’ll have more to say about big sensor cameras very shortly. Stay tuned.

