From the archives, vol. 36: Brain Thaw Week

I’ve decided to break with tradition – normally I try to post seasonally appropriate images, but this winter has been so unrelentingly oppressive, that I’m going to post some spring and summer photos to remind us all of what’s to come… eventually.

From the archives, vol. 36“Summer Meadow”
2008-07-26
Nikon D80
Nikon 55-200mm f/4-5.6 VR

I’ve been working recently with a couple of new Lightroom plugins – Perfect Effects Premium from onOne, and Analog Efex Pro from the Google Nik Collection. Still getting the hang of both plugins, but so far they seem to be surprisingly versatile and useful. The key to making the most of these types of plugins is to recognize the appropriate filter for each image, and to use a light touch when applying effects. Try to avoid the garish, over-processed look. Of course, whether or not an image is over-processed can be in the eye of the beholder, but I definitely belong to the “less is more” school of thought when it comes to image processing. I don’t use these plugins on every image, and when I do, I try to be subtle.

