2014-02-26 The Lost Winter

2014-02-26 The Lost Winter“Leave it All Behind”

The temperature is currently 6°F, about 35 degrees below the average for this time of year. In excess of eight inches of snow is forecast for this weekend. I’ve never seen anything quite like this. Oddly enough, the rest of the world continues to be above average temperature-wise. I just happen to be stuck in the wrong place at the wrong time. Funny thing is, I had planned to be quite active, photographically speaking, this winter. The weather has taken a sledge hammer to those plans. It has, in a sense, been a lost season for me. The anticipation for spring, which is always high, is now through the roof. To say I have cabin fever is putting it mildly – I’m rapidly approaching Jack Nicholson in “The Shining” levels of cabin fever. Long range forecasts offer little in the way of hope, however, as the region is projected to remain below average right through spring.

