2014-09-03 False Start

2014-09-03 False Start

I tried, I really did. I tried to bring you some images from the prairie, but no more than 50 feet from the car I was assaulted by a marauding band of ravenous blood-suckers. No no, not a roaming pack of personal injury lawyers. Mosquitoes. It was mosquitoes. A squadron of them, in attack formation. I fought them off best I could for at least 25 minutes, but eventually had to make a lumpy, itchy retreat. Since Sunday I’ve looked as if I had been smacked repeatedly about the face and hands with a ball-peen hammer. Who says nature photography isn’t dangerous?

Anyway, what you see here are what I would generally call “feelers.” This is me just making some casual images, getting a feel for the light, and how it’s interacting with the subject matter. I’m scouting locations, waiting for conditions to improve. The “real” shooting would have begun at least an hour later, but I unfortunately never made it that far. I will be back though, most likely later in autumn when the cooler temperatures have sent the blood-suckers packing for the year. For now, you get a peek at my shooting process…

2014-09-03 False Start

2014-09-03 False Start

2014-09-03 False Start

2014-09-03 False Start

2014-09-03 False Start

2014-09-03 False Start

2014-09-03 False Start

