2014-09-27 The Little Things

2014-09-27 Evolution of a Sunset

A couple of nights ago I happened to glance out of the kitchen window, and I noticed a rather lovely sunset developing. There was no time to hop in the car and find a composition, but I didn’t want to let this moment pass. I grabbed my camera, and without bothering to change to a more appropriate lens, took a few steps outside the front door and began snapping away. I wasn’t really interested in making a great image, because the setting didn’t allow for it – rather, I was simply interested in appreciating and capturing an experience. I wonder how many people have actually stood and watched as the light changes from yellow, to orange, to red, and finally to pink. I wonder how many have thought about why it happens, and whether or not it looked any different a thousand years ago…. or ten thousand years… or ten million years ago. The thing is, no matter how many times in the history of earth that the sun has set, each time is unique. Sometimes the differences are large, and sometimes they’re infinitesimally small… but each sunset is unique. Each flower, each bird, each blade of grass, every single moment of time is different, and it’ll never come again. Pay closer attention to the world around you. There’s so much beauty, that we often take for granted, or never even stop to notice. Be thankful for all the unique moments you’ve experienced, and hopefully will experience in the future… take the time to watch the colors change…

Evolution of a Sunset…

2014-09-27 Evolution of a Sunset

2014-09-27 Evolution of a Sunset

2014-09-27 Evolution of a Sunset

2014-09-27 Evolution of a Sunset

2014-09-27 Evolution of a Sunset

2014-09-27 Evolution of a Sunset

2014-09-27 Evolution of a Sunset

2014-09-27 Evolution of a Sunset

P.S. ~ I know, I know… I’m giving life advice. Shame on me… 😉

