Thought of the Day: The wise man understands how little he knows

In my early twenties, I assumed that I knew pretty much everything about everything. I was quite skilled at handing out unsolicited life advice – something you see with regularity these days on the interwebs. Those poor ignorant slobs, stumbling through life, searching for answers – how could they be so oblivious to what was right in front of their eyes? Now that I’m more than double that age, I thankfully realize that I was little more than a smug, pretentious doofus.

The more certain one is of their understanding of life’s mysteries, the bigger the fool that person is likely to be. The wise man is the man who recognizes how little he knows, or will ever know, with absolute certainty. That doesn’t mean we should stop striving for answers and understanding… it simply means that we should do so with humility, open-mindedness, and acceptance of other people’s perspectives and perceptions. Whether we know it or not, we’re all stumbling through the darkness.

