2015-01-05

2015-01-05

2015 has arrived, and it’s brought winter with it. Real winter, with snow and cold and wind. In a way, this is a good thing, as there are many indoor tasks I need to accomplish. One is a complete revamping of my image organizing and backup system. Another is laying out a plan for the coming year – projects, sites to visit, website restructuring, etc. I’m going to try to be much more disciplined about these things from now on. The key word for 2015 is “focus.” Staying focused is not something I’ve ever been very good at, and it’s time to change. I don’t expect miracles, just small positive steps forward to begin.

I’m hoping that the act of working on specific projects will allow me to achieve another goal, which is a more clear and personal vision for my photography. A vision not so much in the way the images look, but in what they say, and how they say it. When I started in photography, my goal was to simply record and share the beauty I saw in nature. That’s still part of the goal, of course. Unlike some, I’ve never had a problem with “pretty pictures.” However, I want to create images that also have a deeper, more lasting impact. A great image can deepen a mystery, or it can illuminate it, and I believe a nature photographer’s job is to do both.

I hope all of you are able to achieve your new year resolutions as well, whatever they may be.

