2015-04-14 Against the Grain

mag2 (1)

If you’ve been around here awhile, you may recall me mentioning that my most viewed posts all tend to be gear related. You may also have noticed a lack of gear related posts over the last few months. Given the site statistics, avoiding posts about cameras and lenses would not seem to be the most logical course of direction, if one is looking to increase the number of visitors to a blog. So what gives? Well, I did have what I thought was a pretty good idea for more posts about equipment. This idea was even somewhat original, allowing my to differentiate my blog from all the others out there running gear tests. Then I thought about it for awhile, and I asked myself a very simple question – why am I here? I mean, why am I here on WordPress… not why am I here, in the universe. That question is a little tougher to answer. The question about my reason for being on WordPress is not. I’m here to share the things that I love – plants, animals, flowers, leaves, trees, rocks, rivers, lakes, streams… nature – in the hopes that others will love them, and care for them, as much as I do. Oh sure, I love cameras too, but I love them because of what they allow me to do. My love of cameras is a direct result of my love of nature. If all there was to photograph was fashion models and skyscrapers and boxes of macaroni & cheese, I’d have never picked up a camera. I could have done those gear posts… maybe even figured out a way to make some money with them… but my heart wouldn’t have been in it. All of you who read this blog would have most likely recognized that my heart wasn’t in it. Those gear posts may have been assembled with skill, but not with passion… and why should I expect you to be passionate about something, if I’m not? I’m sure I’ll speak about gear from time to time, but for the most part I’ve decided to stick to what I love the most – images that share my love of nature.

P.S. ~ One other reason that I decided to shelve the gear posts – the first four images were made with a four year old camera, and lenses that range between 45 and 65 years old. Passion and vision matter far more than equipment.

mag2 (2)

mag2 (3)

mag2 (4)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

